Week 6: Spending Diet

Standard

Another week, another 7 days of homemade, yummy food.  I’m going to start posting my menu plan for everyone to see.  It will assure you that we do eat wholesome, hearty food on such a tight budget. (And that you can do the same!)

2 Week Meal Plan (2/12-2/25)
Sat: Chicken Broccoli Bake with Whole Grain Rice (Triple Batch – 2 for Freezer)
Sun: Bombay Chicken Curry with Whole Grain Rice (Husband’s Choice!)
Mon: Spaghetti & Turkey Meatballs with Garlic Bread (♥ Valentine’s Day Special ♥)
Tues: Meatball Subs on Homemade French Bread
Wed: Leftovers
Thurs: Cheese Dreams, Veggies (Husband’s Choice!)
Fri: Turkey Cheeseburgers with Oven-Roasted Potatoes (Double Batch – 1 for Next Week)

Sat: Homemade Savory Beef Pie (like Beef Pot Pie – Double Batch of Pie Crusts)
Sun: Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup
Mon: Tacos
Tues: Leftovers
Wed: Turkey Cheeseburgers with Oven-Roasted Potatoes (from freezer)
Thurs: Chicken Broccoli Bake with Whole Grain Rice (from freezer)
Fri: Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

I’ve also been reading a very informative book called Cut Your Grocery Bill in Half with America’s Cheapest Family: Includes So Many Innovative Strategies You Won’t Have to Cut Coupons by Steve and Annette Economides. 

Please watch this video – it’s a brief introduction to America’s Cheapest Family: 
 

I had to wait for almost 2 months for this book to be available from my library, but it was well worth the wait.  You can check out their website here.  One suggestion they have is to shop less frequently.  I currently shop once a week and could stand to save a few dollars by planning my meals on a 2 week rotation: less gas used + better planning around bulk buying/cooking = more money saved.  You’ll notice my meal plan contains 2 full weeks.  I used this week’s ads, bought extra staples (I even froze a gallon of milk as an experiment – I poured off a glass to account for expansion), and am ready to give this a try!

Because of my new 2 week adventure, my spending this week might look a bit high.  If I don’t have to grocery shop again until Friday, February 25 though, you see why.  I even included a special surprise dessert for my husband on ♥ Valentine’s Day♥.  He reads this blog, so I’ll provide a link to the recipe after Monday.

Here’s the breakdown for this week:

Groceries & Household Items: $71.11 (Includes 8 pounds of Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts from Schnucks at $1.89 per pound – That’s an excellent deal!)

Pet Care: $13.06

Gas (for both Corolla & Alero): $28.80 (I missed this in the breakdown last week – oops!)

Grand Total: $112.97

I also made another $43.39 from eBay sales.  I’m currently working on a post about how YOU can start selling on eBay and make some extra cash – look for it later this month!

Leave a Reply

