Weeks 9 & 10: Spending Diet

Standard

A month ago I would have told you that I couldn’t possibly limit my grocery shopping to twice a month.  I can now say that the thought of going to the grocery store once a week sounds like a very unpleasant task.  We’re going to try monthly grocery shopping starting in May.  It would be sooner, but we’re having international guests for 2 weeks in April, and I don’t think it would work out very well if I put a lockdown on going to the grocery store during that time. 

So here’s what we’ve come up with for the next 2 weeks of dining… 

2 Week Meal Plan (3/12-3/25)
Sat: Hamburger Soup & Zucchini Cheddar Bread (Bread recipe coming soon!)
Sun: Leftover Hamburger Soup & Grilled Cheese Sandwiches
Mon: Sloppy Joes, Mac & Cheese, Veggies (Sloppy Joes from freezer)
Tues: Penne ala Vodka
Wed: BLTs, Mac & Cheese, Pickled Beets & Onions
Thurs: Corned Beef & Cabbage with Potatoes and Carrots
Fri: Reuben Sandwiches, Chips, & Dill Pickles

Sat: Pasta e Fagioli (Moved from our last menu)
Sun: Bombay Chicken with Pineapple & Potatoes over Rice (Husband’s Choice!)
Mon: Baked Potato Chowder with Sandwiches (chowder from freezer)
Tues: Homemade Macaroni & Cheese, Steamed Veggies
Wed: Leftovers
Thurs: BBQ Chicken Pie (Recipe coming soon!)
Fri: Tuna Noodle Casserole (from freezer)

I was very pleased with myself when I saw that the total for our grocery bill this past trip was only $66.43.  That included all the items we needed to prepare our meals for 2 weeks plus over 14 pounds of meat (split chicken breast and corned beef) that I’m currently roasting off and using for next month’s meals. 

Here’s what our spending looked like:

Baby Expenses: $200.05 (Let’s hope the days of specialty hypoallergenic formula are long gone after this Thursday when my baby boy celebrates his 1/2 birthday!)

Groceries & Household Items: $133.72 (This is 2 weeks worth of food and personal items and a bulk stock up during a trip to Sam’s)

Gas (for both the Corolla & Alero): $33.44

Home Remodeling: $15.96 (We had a kitchen island installed last summer and are just now putting hardware on it!  I did budget for this!)

Pet Care: $19.93 (Had excellent coupons this month for cat food!)

Grand Total: $403.10

So a lot higher than normal, and this is why I’m glad we made a few sacrifices earlier this year and sold items on eBay!

As I mentioned above, I’m currently working on compiling a list of yummy recipes I’ll be sharing with you in the near future!

Leave a Reply

