Homemade: Sugar Scrub

Standard

There once was a day when I could go to the high-priced bath-and-body-type shop in the mall and give my $20 plus tax to the cashier in exchange for a container of a highly-scented sugar scrub. That day is gone.

I decided that I needed a whole body exfoliation before summer gets here and also that I’d make my own sugar scrub for pennies 🙂

Adding the essential oil isn’t necessary, but it adds a personal touch for an extra pick-me-up.  I chose Sweet Orange for my scent which is supposed to brighten my mood. I use the brand Aura Cacia which has a great assortment of essential oils at reasonable prices.  Here is a list of all the oils available and their attributes.  This makes enough for one scrub.

Homemade Sugar Scrub
½ cup granulated sugar
¼ cup olive oil
2-3 drops of essential oil (optional)

Mix all ingredients in a shower-friendly container until combined. The consistency should be that of a frozen drink 🙂 

In the shower, apply to your whole body (I don’t do my face because the skin is pretty sensitive) paying special attention to your elbows, knees, and feet.  Rinse. 

Follow with a light wash and rinse. I plan on using this once every 1-2 months.

Leave a Reply

