Recipe: Homemade Mocha

Standard

Okay, so I’ll admit that I’m not coffee’s #1 fan.  First off, I’m not supposed to drink it because of stomach acid issues.  Secondly, unless I dump in tons of creamer/milk and sweetener/sugar, I think it just tastes BAD. 

With my days starting at 5:30 am and sometimes not ending until 11 pm, I periodically have to give in.

So while this may be a simple thing that everyone’s already doing, I thought I’d share my recipe for a caffeinated beverage for those that aren’t crazy about coffee.

Homemade Mocha
1 – 1 oz package of Hot Cocoa Mix
¾ cup – 1 cup hot brewed coffee*
1 teaspoon flavored creamer OR whipped cream (optional)
Chocolate shavings (optional)

Grab your favorite mug and pour in the hot cocoa mix.  If you’re like me and sometimes need an extra special treat for yourself, add your favorite flavored creamer (plain works too!)  Top off with ¾ cup – 1 cup of hot brewed coffee.  Mix until combined. 

And if you have just a few more precious seconds, you can top it with whipped cream. I usually have some whipping cream in my fridge so I whip my own.  You get an arm workout, and it only takes about 2 minutes to get soft peaks by hand. 

Shave (using a microplane or small grater) a bit of chocolate over the top and pretend you’ve just spent $4 at a fancy coffee place!

*You can totally use instant if that’s what you prefer – we have a coffee pot so I brew what I need for my mocha without any waste.

Leave a Reply

