Daily Archives: Wednesday, 05.25.11

Building Your Own Severe Weather Kit

Standard

There’s nothing like living in tornado alley during tornado season. 

Before my son was born, I would typically peek my head outside when the sirens would go off to see what the sky looked like (not so smart.)  I’d turn on the news and see how serious things actually were (why didn’t I trust the National Weather Service?)  If I deemed it “pretty nasty”, I’d head to the basement with a book and my cell phone (you know, it’s like sitting in a waiting room.)       

Now when the sirens go off, my main thought is “MUST keep the baby safe!”  As we dart to the basement, we generally just grab what we think we need – including the cats.

With the local meteorologists telling us that today will be a “severe weather day” with the chance of multiple tornadoes, thunderstorms, and damaging winds, I’ve made the decision to build a Severe Weather Kit right here and now.

This is what the American Red Cross suggests for a severe weather kit: 

  • First aid kit and essential medications.
  • Canned food and can opener.
  • At least three gallons of water per person.
  • Protective clothing, bedding, or sleeping bags.
  • Battery-powered radio, flashlight, and extra batteries.
  • Special items for infant, elderly, or disabled family members.
  • Written instructions on how to turn off electricity, gas, and water if authorities advise you to do so. (Remember, you’ll need a professional to turn natural gas service back on.)

These are a few items I plan on having ready in addition to the kit above:

Do you have a Severe Weather/Disaster Kit ready?  What do you include in yours?