Couponing: Hotdog Extravaganza for under $16

Standard

Summer is here whether it’s official or not. We like to grill even when the temps are blazing outside, and I am personally a fan of grilled hotdogs. My preference is turkey franks, specifically from Oscar Mayer. So when I saw the Schnucks ad this week with Oscar Mayer Turkey Franks for only $1 a pack, I couldn’t resist this deal…

We broke this deal into 2 transactions so that I could use a “$5 off your next Shopping Trip” coupon on my hotdogs and because my husband likes his cereal. And he was helping me out this afternoon, so he took the first transaction.

Here is how I got 40 packs of Oscar Mayer franks for under $16:

Transaction 1:
5 boxes of assorted Post cereals – $1.88 each

Schnucks is running a special this week:
Buy (5) Select Varieties of Post Cereals and get $5 Catalina off your next in store purchase

Received $5 coupon off my next in store purchase

Paid $9.82 out-of-pocket with tax

Transaction 2:
Oscar Mayer Turkey Franks (Original, Cheese, & Bun Length) x 40 – $40 less 20 $1/2 coupons = $20.00

USED $5 off coupon from Transaction 1

Paid $15.89 out-of-pocket with tax

Total Paid Out-of-Pocket with tax: $25.71

According to my receipts, I saved a total of $128.85. That includes advertised sale prices and manufacturers’ coupons.

We now have a deep freezer full of yummy turkey franks that will last us for the next year. It might sound crazy, but it was a deal I couldn’t pass up.

I’d love to hear how you saved money with couponing this week!

Leave a Reply

