Organizing: My Coupon Binder

Standard

I started using coupons when I moved out (9 years ago) to go to college – the real world, I quickly learned, is expensive! 

I started out using envelopes, graduated to an accordian file, and finally made my way to another unsatisfactory method of using a small 24-page photo brag book.

If I would have known about how to organize a coupon binder, I would have skipped directly to what this post is all about!

So finally, after missing a few good deals because I couldn’t see my coupons, I decided to bite the bullet and make my own coupon binder.  There are many ways to do it , and I chose a combination of the methods that I thought would work best for me. 

The link that inspired me most was one I found on You Tube.  Check out her video below:

I set a budget of $50 (these things can get expensive, or so I hear) and made my shopping list.  It looked a little something like this:

I found the binder ($10) and the tabbed dividers (2 sets, $3.58 each) at Wal-Mart, and the black card stock at Target (4 packs, 99 cents each), and after having no luck finding the pocketed protectors in any stores, I bought them all off eBay (links above.)

My grand total spent was $45.74.  So I even stayed under budget!

And here’s how I organzied it all:

These are the sections in my binder:

  • Meats
  • Condiments
  • Dry Goods
  • Cereal & Granola
  • Snacks & Candy
  • Beverages
  • Dairy
  • Frozen
  • Baby
  • Health
  • Beauty
  • Toiletries
  • Paper Products
  • Laundry & Cleaning
  • Pet Supplies
  • Misc.

In the front of my binder, I have a 3 slot protector. In the top pocket, I often tuck my shopping list. In the middle pocket, I keep my coupons that I will be handing over to the cashier at the check-out. In the bottom pocket, I put all coupons that I think I might use on my trip. If and when I do find a great deal, I transfer them to the middle pocket as I put items in my cart.

Once a week, I flip through the pages of the binder and pull any expired coupons – it’s so much easier than before, and it was well worth the $45.74!

I would love to hear how you organize your coupons – Fill me in on your tips and tricks!

Leave a Reply

