I ♥ Target: 34 Writing Utensils for 6 cents

Standard

DSC02854

It’s that time again.  I don’t have any school-age children, but I have fond memories of back-to-school shopping, and often look for deals on supplies that I can use or donate.  We didn’t start this early when I was a kid – our shopping trip was usually in August, about a week or so before the actual start of school.  If it would have been much earlier, we would have opened everything and used it just from sheer excitement.  We liked going back to school in my house Smile

Although it’s not fall, and I didn’t buy pencils, I can’t help but think of Tom Hanks’ character in You’ve Got Mail:

“Don’t you love New York in the fall?  It makes me wanna buy school supplies.  I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”

– Joe Fox

I actually asked my husband if he could go snag this deal for me last night as I was suffering from a pretty nasty headache – let’s blame the heat that I didn’t go out in yesterday, shall we?

To my surprise, he agreed!  (I’m starting to think he likes to see the look on the cashier’s face when he hands them a stack of coupons that drastically lowers the total.) 

After only 1 phone call to verify a few things, he was headed to the check-out with this deal:

 

Paper Mate Eagle Ball Point Pens (10 pack) – $1.02

Used 3 $1/1 off Target coupons (Under “Stationary & Holiday”)

Paid 2 cents each, 6 cents total

Sharpie Fine-Tip Markers (2 pack) – $1

Used 2 $1/1 off Target coupons (Under “Stationary & Holiday”)

Free

Grand total after tax (which was too small to add I’m guessing): 6 cents

They may not be newly sharpened pencils, and it may not be fall just yet, but I’m stocked up on pens and Sharpies for mere pennies!

Leave a Reply

